A Teenagers Analysis on Trump

Now I know I’m not the only one when I say…I’m sick and tired of this election. This is especially true for people of my generation who, while you’re all out making your vote count on November 8th, will be at home anxiously hoping that there’s some common sense in the world. It’s one of those times my age comes to bite me in the butt.

The past two weeks of readings by my Pop Pop and I have been focused on of course…the election. How can you blame us when every page is plastered with the gross unraveled past of Trump or the overplayed analysis of Hilary’s trustworthiness. I dutifully read and make conversation but I honestly feel held back from discussion out of my sheer exhaustion on the topic. On the opposite hand my Pop Pop would rather talk about this election than any breaking news pieces or op-eds because he’s just SO DAMN nervous. He keeps telling me, “You’ll be on this earth a lot longer than I will and it makes me anxious to think that you’ll be living with someone like him (Trump) in power.” I kept relaying statistics to him to make him feel better but no Nate Silver poll or U of Chicago student’s pie chart did him any good. That’s when we decided to use my age to our benefit to analyze Trump as if he were a teenage boy (and as far as we’re concerned, he sure seems like one).

This all came about after we read a piece by Gail Collins where she equated Trump to a really bad boyfriend; so here’s our take on it.

Remember back in high school when you were starting a class full of people who you knew  nothing about and who knew nothing about you. As you started your first steps of small talk with someone it seemed like every story, joke or opinion they had were the most interesting thing you’d ever heard. You became so interested in this person’s seemingly story perfect life. Then as the new friend gitters settled and you started to get to know them on a deeper level you realized that those stories that captured you in the beginning of your friendship weren’t actually as magical as they seemed, in fact you may have found that they were flat-out lies. This tendency to embellish is something many people do when they’re young because they feel vulnerable and just want people to like them.
Now with this in mind, I want you to think about Trump and how he gained power. It wasn’t from concrete policies or experience. It was from the dinner party story esque way he gave speeches. He like any typical teenage boy longed for everybody, from the women and Latinos to the middle class and business owners, to like him for what he was saying and how he was saying it. The last thing he wanted to hear was for the black community to say, “you can’t sit with us.” It’s from this that we see what Trump really is, which is a vulnerable teenage boy who wants everyone to like him and would say or do anything to make that happen. I can bet you he would be the type of person to wear pink on Wednesdays just to get a seat at the table and I hope you keep this in mind on November 8th for the sake of all of us deemed not old or wise enough to vote.

-Charlotte

Leave a Reply

